What changes have we seen with California title loans?
California residents have long had the ability to take out a title loan. You can go back decades and see that people have been using their pink slip to get quick cash. Just over the past few years we've seen a proliferation of companies offer online title loans to residents who live in California. This has really changed the game as you no longer have to physically walk into a lender to get cash for your vehicle. Most companies will still require some type of verification. This can include employment verification and a vehicle inspection. With that, it's become much easier for California residents to get get a title loan online opposed to how it was years ago. As well all know, this type of financing comes with high interest rates and the risk of losing your vehicle if you fall behind on payments. The flip side of that argument is that these loans aren't made for everyone. Typically, people that can't qualify for other types of loans such as a bank loan or installment loan will be best suited for a title loan. Due to the increase in online lenders and other factors, there's been an increase in title loans over the past few years. Not surprisingly, the State of California has put new rules in place as a way to regulate the industry and keep out bad actors.
Who governs title loan rules in California?
There are literally dozens of regulations on the books in California that pertain to title loans. That doesn't include city and federal restrictions. For example, Los Angeles and San Diego have citywide enforcement rules that ban certain lending practices. Sacramento has restrictions in place that seek to regulate the title loan industry as a whole. The Federal Government has many restrictions from all types of governing bodies as well. The CFPB is probably the most well known of these. Just recent the CFPB based new rules that seek to outlaw specific types of loans. While these rules mainly target payday loans, they will also affect car title loans. Please research any rules that may pertain to you on both the local and federal level. As this site is about California title loans, we try to only focus on California specific restrictions. You can view more information about title loans in this state at our homepage. We also break down the steps to take when looking for an online title loan in California. While some states completely outlaw car title loans, California seems to take more of a mid line approach. They don't deny consumers to make a choice when it comes to getting a loan. But there are some basic restrictions to take into consideration when one needs a title loan in California
What rules are in place in California?
Like most states that allow car title loan lenders, the state of California doesn't do much in terms of controlling the interest rates these companies can assess to borrowers.
You'll notice that most lenders don't provide online title loans of less than $2,500. There's a logical reason for why companies don't provide equity loans under that amount. State law says that loans under that amount can't charge interest rates of more than 33% a year. Therefore most companies in California have a minimum floor amount of how much they can provide for a title or equity loan. These online title loans over $2500 don't have any restrictions when it comes to finance charges. Consumer advocacy groups will say the rates are too high. The title loan companies will say the rates are high because of the consumers they're dealing with. They say this type of financing comes with high default rates and many applicants have access to no other types of traditional funding. Besides the interest restrictions, there are certain fees and charges that a California title lender can charge. As always, we think it's best to look up these restrictions on your own. You can access them on the State of California finance site. Lastly, there are numerous protections afforded to consumers who miss payments on their vehicle. While this will lead to a repossession, you have rights as a California resident. For example, a title loan lender must inform you that the vehicle has been repossessed. You will also have a specific amount of time to pay off the loan and hopefully retain possession of the vehicle. Once again, please check out the State of California site that details all this specific information.